The German Chapter

12 Jul

‘Once upon a time, in a land far, far away’  . . . .

Marienburg Castle

From the village I can see a Gothic style castle nestled in the hills and surrounded by pine forest that is reminiscent of a fairytale book castle complete with tower. I guess this is the beginning of my fairy tale, . . .  minus the fairies, but there will be some tales, and I hope to share some of my experiences of life in a new country, learning the language and starting my business.

As the title indicates, this is the German Chapter!

Much like historians divide particular periods of history into sections, I also recall my life in phases. Not that ‘The Renaissance’ and my years of teenage angst bare much relation or relative importance, but its a good way to categorise time. Prior to the German Chapter came the Qatar chapter, where I spent 6 months in the middle east, and prior to that was perhaps my ‘Dark Ages’ where I almost fossilised working for 2 and half years for the Welsh Government. My only saviours where a few good work colleagues and friends who helped make civil service seem less like a sentence.

Before this, there were many, many different stages, none that I remember that well or care to recall right now but no doubt I will in time to come.

Returning to ‘The German Chapter’ – Hildesheim in northern Germany is now my home for the next year at least. Once a fiercely independent ice maiden, I recently met a tall 22 year old Swedish handball player whilst in Qatar and followed him here and ‘shacked up’ after 3 months!! Ok, ok . . . I know what you’re thinking . . . . . . .

what the hell is handball!!!

To any sane rational person this sounds crazy and to me it does too, but the love bug got me and so here I am. As for handball,  . .  imagine you are playing football, . . but with your hands, and before you came on the court you accidently tripped on Dave the handyman’s ladder and as you stretched out your hands to break your fall you landed in a big pot of sticky glue that Dave had left out from his model making. Got it!

Its now day 4 in our apartment living in Germany and after a trip to IKEA to buy self assembly furniture and more cushions and throws than you can shake a stick at, it is starting to feel like home. IKEA has no doubt been the salvation of many a student and first time home buyer. For people like me who lack visual creativity and imagination, the top floor of IKEA is a god send. Hints and a few ideas on how to make a room look good are of no use to me, I need to blatantly copy Sven or Hans the uber cool Nordic designer latest room arrangements. After my recent trip to Sweden, I can actually confirm that Swedes are up there on the Cool o meter!  . . . and yes there is a gauge for measuring cool, Jeremy Clarkson, the Hamster and Captain Slow bicker about it on Top Gear quite often.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eoyBnuP0K9w

I will save my the Swedish experience and the meeting of the parents for the first time for another blog. It was however, for the most part painless and I believe a success.

Today, however we managed to lock ourselves in the apartment and had to be rescued by an old lady and managed to flood the downstairs apartment! Just an average day in paradise.

Good night all,  . . . you stay classy San Diego!

One Response to “The German Chapter”

  1. Mia Permats July 13, 2012 at 6:50 pm #

    Love u Daniel! You can be a writer, ifall nothing else works out!

Leave a comment